Several weeks have passed since I have strung up my fly rod and I have been getting restless to get outside. I seriously thought twice about my decision when my alarm went off at 4:30 a.m., but I forced myself to roll out of bed instead of hitting the snooze for an indefinite amount of time. I had heard rumors that Tonto Creek near Payson was a decent place to fish so I bit the bullet and took the mountainous drive there. My little S-10 struggled up and down those hills through low and high deserts and finally entering my destination in the ponderosa pines. I was wading by 7:30 and catching stockies on my first couple of casts. Most of the fish I caught were between 4-8 inches but a few measured at 11-12. I lost count of how many fish I caught and had a fantastic day. Most of the fish were rainbows stocked by game and fish, but there were several brown trout in the mix too. Unfortunately due to the fact that  I’m a lummox and was not taking my time, I spooked several large browns into the pools ahead of me which made me feel like a fool. All of the fish I have been catching have been off of parachute adams and other dry flies. I have tried tying on small droppers to my dry flies and have only had success in getting tangled and frustrated. Everything I read is telling me to fish subsurface but I feel like I’m being successful using dries. One thing I am 100% sure of is that I need some sort of camera. The cell phone camera is not cutting it…

